The Tulsa Metropolitan Area Planning Commission (TMAPC) is a joint City-County cooperative planning commission authorized by Oklahoma Statutes, Title 19, Section 863. It was created in 1953 by the City of Tulsa and Tulsa County. TMAPC is a recommending body for zoning requests within the Tulsa city limits and the unincorporated areas of Tulsa County (TMAPC’s jurisdictional area). 

TMAPC sets a broad vision for growth and development for the area. It has the responsibility of
adopting the Comprehensive Plan for the City of Tulsa. The Comprehensive Plan serves as the basis for evaluating all zoning requests, and sets forth the adopted planning and development policies Tulsa wants to achieve as a community. The original Comprehensive Plan was adopted by TMAPC in 1960, with a major update beginning in 1974 and completed in 1978. Elements of the Comprehensive Plan, such as the Park, Recreation and Open Space Plan, are updated periodically, and amendments to the Comprehensive Plan Map and Text occur as the need arises.The current comprehensive plan was adopted in 2010.

In addition, specific planning studies are authorized by TMAPC each year as part of their Annual Work Program. TMAPC is also responsible for adoption and maintenance of several ordinances and codes regulating planning and zoning. New subdivision plats and lot splits are processed by TMAPC and must meet the adopted Subdivision Regulations.

Composition of Commission
According to Oklahoma Statutes, the Mayor, with approval of the City Council, appoints six members to TMAPC, and the Tulsa County Commission appoint three members. In addition, the Mayor and the Chair of the County Commission, or their designees, serve as ex-officio members, bringing the total TMAPC membership to eleven. Appointed members serve without compensation for terms of three years. Members serve until their terms expire or a successor has been appointed.

INCOG is the primary provider of professional planning staff for TMAPC.